Home > Atmosphere, Comet, Websocket > Atmosphere.next Update: WebSocket, Javascript, full docs and 1.0.0 on the horizon!

Atmosphere.next Update: WebSocket, Javascript, full docs and 1.0.0 on the horizon!

I took this summer off in order to explore what can be done with the Atmosphere Framework. I have to admit I was extremely surprised about the number of emails I did received for supports, new features, venture capital stuff etc. As you may already know, I’ve decided to join Wordnik.com to pursue the work on Atmosphere.

The future of Atmosphere has never been brighter than now…starting mid September, I will be allowed as much as 50% of my time to work on Atmosphere. That’s A LOT, more time than I ever got allowed at Sun, Ning and Sonatype. For the last two years I’ve innovated on my own time, helped growing the community, do some talks, but I had never a chance to spend the time I wanted on the project. Not anymore!!

So soon I will restart contributing (created a lot of great things over the summer) and work on Atmosphere 1.0, which I hope I can do before next year. The roadmap is simple: stabilize, documents (quite needed), merge all the pull requests/donations for the client side, push the Socket.IO supports, etc. Since I haven’t received what I wanted from Oracle on Atmosphere, I will also rewrite some part of the framework completely to get rid of the CDDL/LGPL stuff in favor or a pure APL licensing (more than 75% is APL right now anyway). And of course the project will stay under Github, and Twitter will still be used for communicating news (either atmo_framework or jfarcand). Stay tuned, the future is bright for Atmosphere!

 

Categories: Atmosphere, Comet, Websocket
  1. September 8, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    Great news!!! Happy to hear it:)

    Good luck!

  2. Emperorlou
    September 8, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    Excellent news indeed!

  3. September 8, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    Excellent news – Congratulations!

  4. falcon
    September 8, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    Congrats!
    Please make it so I can use a simple API to push data to web browsers. Current examples require me to understand annotations, pause/resume/continuation, installing j2ee containers, etc.

    I love node’s socket.io, if I follow their instructions exactly, I can have node/npm/socket.io installed and sending messages to the browser within 20 minutes or so.

    I desperately wish there was something like socket.io in Java (I know there are a couple of projects, but they require me to write servlets and their deployment to servlet containers is left up to me…I don’t want to learn about servlets, I want a higher level interface…please!)

  5. September 9, 2011 at 6:43 am

    Hope it works out and the nouvelle atmosphere reaches stratospheric heights.

  6. cem koc
    September 19, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    Congratulations!! Long live!!

  7. September 29, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Hello Jeanfrancois,

    I’m really happy about your decision. I have wrote an article how to integrate Atmosphere in any web framework, especially JSF:

    http://ovaraksin.blogspot.com/2011/09/atmosphere-and-jsf-are-good-friends.html

    Keep your work up and good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

